To my dear family August 11, 2014

There are so many things to say and so very little time to say it. My heart is filled with joy this morning and I write this and think of the many blessings that have come and are coming. Thank you first of all for the people who you are. For your purity. For your testimonies. For your examples of true discipleship. You are all leaders in many ways and bring light and life to the world as the hands of the Savior here on the earth. Oh how much I love you and am grateful for you.

One day early on in the week, I was having a rough day. It`s normal to be a little down every once in a while but it was a deep sadness that didn`t seem to have a source. It was nearly time for bed and I knelt down to pray and plead the help of my Heavenly Father. And as I prayed I felt an incredible strength that was not my own. I felt that it was a strength that had not come from my prayer either. It came from the prayer of someone else. I`m not sure who was praying or where but I felt so incredibly strongly a strength come that was not my own. And suddenly all was right. I felt this excitement and energy and a deep desire to share the gospel. I felt faith and charity and light. And lots of hope. And so I sat down and I wrote out some things and we`ve been working ever since. There have been some rough days and there have been some crazy things but not a single moment since then have I felt the sadness. I feel this strength and excitement. Tender mercy wouldn`t even begin to describe it.
 
I am so grateful for my dear companion, Hermana Castillo (Sister Castle hahaha, she`s adorable) who just looks at the world for all of it`s potential. She never gets tired. She doesn`t get offended or angry. She just keeps working with the most amazing attitude. Hahaha. I hope one day you`ll get to meet all of these choice spirits that have intertwined their lives with mine at this part of my earthly journey.  She is incredible. This week we`ll be out of our sector for half the week doing exchanges with the Sister Missionaries in Coyhaique and Puerto Aysen which will be lots of fun. 
 
New investigators have been coming out of the woodworks including the daughter of that one guy I told you I love to teach. She`s just as interested and excited about learning and asks the same kinds of questions as her dad. And he`s way excited that someone he loves so much is interested, obviously, so I only see good things in the future there. 🙂 And we had the miracle to see him read the Book of Mormon. He read the first three chapters and understood it all and that, my friends, is a miracle. We`ve been fasting and praying to see him progress for weeks. When he makes the decision to get baptized I know he`ll be a tremendous leader in the church.
 
I`ve been studying the last week of Christ in the book of John to have a model and example for my last week. Something that really stood out to me was how much time he took to teach the leaders of the church and strengthen them. 
John 15: 17-19

These things I command you, that ye love one another. If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you. If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you.

He teaches them to not be offended. To be patient. It`s just because they don`t understand. The incredible example he gives of love and patience is astounding and just what this world needs. And so I, being a representative of Him must do as He did:

when Jesus knew that his hour was come that he should depart out of this world unto the Father, having loved his own which were in the world, he loved them unto the end. – John 13:1

Next week I`ll be traveling all week to get there… My last day in Cisnes is Monday. Deep breath. Here we go 🙂

-Hna Lethco

Leave a Reply

