Patience and the Timing of the Lord July 21, 2014

This week we had the pleasure of going to Coyhaique to do exchanges with the sisters there. And guess what? We missed the 5:30am bus AGAIN! Thankfully my body clock was working and I  got up right on the dot at 7am. We got to run across the town yet again and made it for the 8am bus. Hooray! That would have been a rough day canceling on them again! Our intercambios were fun. I haven´t walked that much in a LONG time. But I got to meet a lot of new people in lots of fun and different ways. 🙂 Those sisters are amazingly dilligent. And in the morning for our exercises we all practiced the new dance steps Sister Obeso taught us. 🙂

This week I had to have a solid reality check about what I´ve accomplished and what I haven´t accomlished in the mission. My companion listened to me for a long time as I explained all that I was thinking and feeling and she helped me reshape the way I was thinking and feeling about it all. She said, ´´Hermana Lethco, the Lord does NOT do things according to our time table. His way is always better. So what if not all the promises are fulfilled? You still have an ETERNITY of progression to see these promises fulfilled. When you were set apart it wasn´t just for this year and a half while you´ve got a name badge on. It´s for the next life as well.´´ Then she told me about how when the temple in Kirtland was dedicated and how the saints were promised protection and that their enemies woldn´t prevail against them. This promised wasn´t fulfilled right away. Not in the slightest! But we can now see how it has been fulfilled today. I´ve been thinking about that a lot over the last couple of days.
 
This morning I read in Luke 20 where Christ explains to his apostles that they would face opposition.
´´And ye shall be betrayed both by parents, and brethren, and kinsfolk, and friends ; and some of you shall they cause to be put to death.
´´And ye shall be hated of all men for my name´s sake.
´´But there shall not a hair of your head perish.
´´In your patience possess ye your souls.´´ (Luke 20:16-19)
How could the Savior tell them that they were going to be betrayed and hated and even put to death and at the same time tell them that they wouldn´t lose even a hair on their head? Because that promise doesn´t have to do with this life. he´s clearly speaking of the resurrection (Alma 40:23) when every thing will be restored to it´s perfect form. The resurrection is clearly a much more important promise than anything that one could receive in this life. I read what it says in Preach My Gospel about patience and a big part of patience is the ability to do the will of the Lord and accept things in His time. To wait with hope and faith for the Lord to fulfill His promises. 
 
I think of the sons of King Mosiah and all they went through. 
´´And we have entered into their houses and taught the, and we have taught them in their streets, yea, and we have taught them upon their hills. and we have also entered into their temples and their synagogues and taught them; and we have been cast out, and mocked, and spit upon, and smote upon our cheeks; and we have been stoned and taken and bound with strong cords, and cast into prison; and through the power and wisdom of God we have been delivered again.
´´And we have suffered all manner of afflictions, and all this, that perhaps we might be the means of saving some soul; and we supposed that our joy woudl be full if perhaps we could be the means of saving som.
´´Now behold, we can look forth and see the fruits of our labors. and are they few? I say unto you, Nay,they are many; yea, and we can witness of their sincerity, because of their love towards their brethren and also towards us…
´´Blessed be the name of my God who has been mindful of us, wanderers in a strange land.´´ (Alma 26:29-31, 36)
I certainly haven´t been imprisoned but I understand a great number of the things these faithful disciples of Christ describe. And equally, I am praying to see with the spiritual eyes that can only be given by my Heavenly Father to see those fruits.
I love you all. Trust in the Lord. Be patient in His timing.
-Hermana Lethco
Leave a Reply

