First Letter from Chile

Hola Familia!

I made it here to Chile! Sorry I didn’t get to call in the airport to let you know I made it. Let’s just say everything was in Spanish… Hahaha! The flight was long but I got in some really good studying in 3 Nephi. We all made it in one piece – tired but excited. We received a nice warm welcome in the airport in Osorno- literally! The sun was shining and it was similar to LA weather! But even better were the huge smiles, hand shakes, and hugs from our Mission President and his wife and some of the couple missionaries.

Our first Chileno meal was something called compietos. It’s a hot dog with all sorts of yummy things on it – tomatoes, guacamole, mayonnaise, lettuce and ketchup and mustard if you want! Don’t worry I had lots of delicious fruits too! Well, now that we’ve got the basics out of the way, let’s talk about what you really want to hear about.

I have been assigned to serve in La Union which is a little place about 30 minutes north of Osorno. I actually already met some of the members and I am excited. I haven’t met my companion, Hermana Lopez yet, but she looks really nice. She’s from Brazil so Spanish will be what we’re learning together. Our mission is really big on obedience. “Obedience brings blessings. Exact obedience brings miracles.” Love it already”. We are also encouraged to be really positive and from what I’ve seen of the senior Elders that have been training us today, I really am going to be a positive, happy missionaries. The light just radiates. I am excited to see what my Father in Heaven has in store for me and the members in La Union and how He will help Hermana Lopez and I overcome some challenges.

Love you all! called to serve Him, Heaven”ly King of Glory

Hna Lethco

P.S. – pdays are Monday. I get 45 minutes to send 2 emails – one to my Mission President and 1 to the family. Anyone can send me emails (family friends, etc.) but I’ll have to respond either by snail mail or in a part of my letter to the family. We’ll figure it out.

Leave a Reply

